clockThe Utah Nurse Assistant Registry requires students to attend a minimum of 100 hours in a program, of which a minimum of 24 hours is spent in a clinical setting.

There are no exceptions to this rule. If you miss class or clinicals, even one minute of time, you will be required to make it up prior to receiving a Completion Certificate and be made eligible to test with UNAR.

Requirements for being recommended to test:
• 76 hours of classroom instruction and skills pass off
• Vital Sign Log
• Pass all chapter quizzes at 80% or better
• Passed off all skills 100% competency prior to clinicals
• Attended 24 hours of clinical rotation
• Paid all tuition and fees
• Returned the Textbook in good condition or have purchased one (students who fail to return the book or who return the book in bad condition will be required to purchase THAT book for $40).

If you have missed any skills pass offs, class or clinical time or if you have not passed all quizzes, submitted your Clinical Activity Sheet, or failed to turn in your Vital Sign Log, you will have to make this up. Students have 30 calendar days to make up time or work. If a student does not complete the program in 30 days after the last day of the program in which they were enrolled, the student will not be recommended.

Students who have missed time in class or missed a clinical must make up ALL time in order to be recommended for testing by the State of Utah. This is the law and there are no exceptions. Students who have missed class or clinicals without notice or without a reasonable and approved explanation, or who habitually arrive late or leave early are not eligible to make up time, but must instead repeat the entire program again – at their own cost. The decision to allow a student to make up time is at the discretion of the instructor – so communication is necessary. Students who know they will miss time are advised to notify the school office (801.990.9333) and their instructor(s) on the first day of class. Students who “plan” to miss a significant amount of time are advised to register for a program in which all or most of the scheduled hours can be attended by the student. Attending classes in a hodge-podge manner may result in an inability to cover all the necessary information and may result in failing the state exams.

Only 8 hours can be ‘made up’ – if you miss more than one full day or two evening classes, you will be dropped from the program and have to repeat it from the beginning including the requirement to repay the entire tuition. Exceptions are rare. Contact the office NOW if you know you will miss time.

Students who miss a clinical must pay a $50 re-scheduling fee. Plan to be there! Please read this notice carefully – we want every student to be a successful graduate.

Students are required to sign the roll at the beginning and end of each class and at the beginning and end of each clinical rotation. Failure to sign the roll means the student’s attendance in that class is not counted. Forgetting to sign the roll will cost the student that number of hours. No exceptions. Instructors are forbidden to alter, add or delete hours from the official roll for any reason.

If a student knows that they will need to miss time in class or in clinicals, please notify the instructor AND the office (801.990-9333) on the first day of class or as soon as possible. The reason for missing a class or clinical must be reasonable. (A rescheduling fee of $50 must be paid before we will reschedule your clinical rotation). Most of the time a student will miss time in class or clinicals due to an emergency and not a planned absence. Any absence except for serious emergencies must be reported to the instructor AND the office prior to missing the hours, if not, the student may not be eligible to make up the time and may have to repeat the entire program. Students are adults – and are expected to be accountable and responsible members of the program.

Students who need to make up anything, must receive a Missing Voucher at the end of class which details what must be completed. This must be turned into the office to be counted. Students have 30 days to complete a program, and can only ‘make up’ eight (8) hours of missed class.